Pages of Life (19) – Tucson trip

A long spell between posts usually means, not just too busy, but too tired!

It has been exhausting, but rewarding, with my wife out of town for 10-weeks. My boys are troopers and knowing things are going well with them is just s comforting sign that I am doing a good job – yay me!

So, we are here, in Tucson, Arizona. It hit somewhere in the neighborhood of 109 or something today. I never heard the high. Either way, it was hot! But, it’s a dry heat! So, as soon as the sun goes down, a breeze picks up a little, and it drops to the 90’s, it’s actually refreshing – in a hot sort of way.

I bought a city map book so I can figure out my way around and know how to get places if I need. It also helps in taking directions to grocery stores and restaurants. I am trying to wrap my head around the area. Putting the temperature aside, there isn’t any grass around, except for city parks.

You may have seen pictures before, but seeing it in person is just weird at first. Some of the “yards” of dirt, rock, gravel, cactus, and desert plants, actually look quite nice! Just don’t expect to be playing touch football in the front yard! Or, frisbee with the dog. Or running through the sprinkler – OR! Slip ‘n Slide! Ouch!

The houses are all the same set of about 3 colors. Light brown, brown, and dark brown. The older homes are brick, and the newer homes are a painted cement type of look. Tucson is actually a big city area! The downtown area is small, considering. The city is set up in a grid. As you get further on the outskirts it’s kind of all over, but that’s because you are climbing mountain foothills, more open desert area the city hasn’t expanded to, or, more mountains and desert!

In case you hadn’t guessed, we drove. Yup. 2-days! The boys are troopers! We borrowed a portable DVD player with 2 screens. That was a godsend! The second day of driving, through Southern California, after the major city freeway pretzel, was just desert – for hours! It was difficult. A fascinating area! I wish I could explore it more in depth – and not die of heat stroke. It’s just really a different part of the area of the US.

I am taking video as we go. Not as much since we got here, but some. I will get this edited hopefully soon and posted in YouTube so I can add it here.

I will hopefully write more shortly – later this week, anyway.

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

